15 MINUTES TO SHAME

Posted: February 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

2:02 a.m.

It is dark,

barren,

hollow,

the endless red light

incinerates my insolent eyes.

2:05 a.m.

Every guidepost seems green,

but mine.

Malfunction?

2:07 a.m.

Still red

REd

RED

the light glows.

Skimming,

I see no protect-and-serve vehicle,

no vehicle of any sort

none to the left

right

front

behind –

All is clear,

so it is then

I  chose

to pound the pedal of power,

screeching forward

the tires fight the road

when the road releases

my car flies forward

and immediately

flashing lights

inflict my mirrors –

red, blue, red, blue, red, blue .

I pull my car to the side,

place it from drive

to park

roll down the window,

ignition off

and wait,

wait,

wait.

2:11 a.m.

The officer tediously inspects my license,

then my face,

again to my license.

He leans down

triggering

a silent demand

for me

to look

his way,

so I do,

and it is then

that he finally denounces

with a tone tinged with apprehension

“Pastor

Paul?”
With eyes down,

stomach curled,

my lips first hesitate to acknowledge his quest for an answer,

then with a laden whiskey whisper

I respond…

“Yes”.
Breathalyzer,

handcuffs,

cold

hard

back-seat.

2:17 a.m.

Leave a Reply

